MONTPELIER --The Community College of Vermont recently announced the recipients of the 2014 Student Leadership Scholarship. The Student Leadership Scholarship is given out annually to a student from each of the College's academic centers and its Center for Online Learning. This scholarship is designed to honor students who demonstrate significant leadership abilities in their classrooms, their academic centers, or their communities through service learning, volunteer work, and involvement in student life at CCV.

In addition, student leaders must: be a degree student; be enrolled for spring semester; have completed at least 12 credits; be in good academic standing; be a leader in their community.

Each recipient will receive a $1,000 award, a certificate of achievement, and will be invited to a luncheon with CCV President Joyce Judy to be held in their honor this spring.

This year's 13 recipients are: James Lawton, Bennington Academic Center; Patricia Gilbert, Brattleboro Academic Center; Elizabeth Fish, Center for Online Learning; Susan Stroud-Speyers, Middlebury Academic Center; Samuel Jensen, Montpelier Academic Center; Casey English, Morrisville Academic Center; Gladys Chambers, Newport Academic Center; Emily Weber, Rutland Academic Center; Rachel Arbuckle, Springfield Academic Center; Emily Watcke, St. Albans Academic Center; Brittney Stevens, St. Johnsbury Academic Center; Ashley Andreas, Upper Valley Academic Center; Umesh Acharya, Winooski Academic Center.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.