View more photos and event videos at

LYNDONVILLE — The stars were out in full force Wednesday night as The Caledonian-Record put on its fifth annual NNEKY High School Sports Awards show at Northern Vermont University.

In front of VIP guest speaker Brian Scalabrine, the former player and current broadcaster for the Boston Celtics, nearly 30 student-athletes from northern New Hampshire and northeast Vermont were honored in front of their friends, family and coaches.

Beginning with a red-carpet photoshoot and ending with the announcement of The Record’s 2018-19 Athletes of the Year, the NNEKYs were once again a grand slam.

St. Johnsbury Academy senior Jake Cady was named Boys Athlete of the Year while classmates and sisters Jen and Lia Rotti earned Girls Co-Athlete of the Year honors.

Cady, the Gatorade Vermont football player of the year and an All-Metro first-team shortstop, will play football at Division II Assumption College in the fall. The Rottis, who were also named Co-Scholar-Athletes of the Year, were standouts on the soccer pitch and superstars in indoor and outdoor track and field. They are headed to Tufts University in the fall.

Lyndon Institute senior Connor McClure, who was a three-sport athlete, LI’s valedictorian and finished his high-school career with a 4.18 GPA, snagged the Boys Scholar-Athlete Award.

White Mountains Regional baseball coach Ben Hicks took home Coach of the Year honors after leading the Spartans to back-to-back Division III championships.

Jonathon Austin of White Mountains Regional and Anne Potter of North Country Union grabbed the Sportsmanship Awards. Austin is a four-time wrestling champion headed to compete at Minot Sate University. Potter, who earned indoor and outdoor state track and field titles her senior year, “defines what it means to be a successful student-athlete,” NCU athletics director Phil Joyal said. “Her hard work, dedication, character and approach to her student-athlete experience are what all high school athletes should try to emulate.

Scalabrine, meanwhile, advised guests to “Fall in love with the journey, not the award.” He told the award winners they would continue to be successful if they learned to “love the process and love the work.”

Meanwhile, there were 29 seasonal Player of the Year winners honored Wednesday night, five from the spring of 2018, nine from the fall, 10 from the winter and five from the spring. They include:



Baseball: Griffin Crane, WMR

Softball: Ariel Switser, LI

Lacrosse: Lilly Leach, SJA

Girls Track and Field: Lia Rotti, SJA

Boys Track and Field: Asom Hayman-Jones, SJA


2018-19 Winter POYs

Boys Basketball: Alex Carlisle, SJA

Girls Basketball: Sadie Stetson, SJA

Wrestler: Hunter Verge, SJA

Boys Hockey: Martin Rudolf, LI

Girls Hockey: Skylar Robert, NCU

Alpine Skiing: Lena Sauter, LI

Boys Nordic Skiing: Jack Young, NCU

Boys Indoor Track and Field: Dillon Ryan, SJA

Girls Indoor Track and Field: Lia and Jen Rotti, SJA


2018 Fall POYs

Football: Jake Cady, SJA

Field Hockey: Lilly Laufenberg, SJA

Volleyball: Lyle Hansen, LI

Boys Soccer: Pablo Gonzalez-Rotger

Girls Soccer: Addy Cook, NCU

Boys Golf: Spenser Stevens, Littleton

Girls Golf: Lauryn Goulet, NCU

Boys XC: Evan Thornton-Sherman, SJA

Girls XC: Rebecca Green, SJA


2018 Spring POYs

Baseball: Griffin Crane, WMR

Softball: Haile Hicks, WMR

Lacrosse: Lilly Leach, SJA

Boys Track and Field: Riley Fenoff, Danville

Girls Track and Field: Hannah Wescott, SJA


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.