On Wednesday, July 10, our sports staff and digital marketing team will host their annual banquet to celebrate the student-athletes who give the Northeast Kingdom and North Country so much to cheer about throughout the year.

Our writers, photographers and marketing professionals worked together to create the “NNEKY” awards in an effort to honor the vast achievements of dedicated high school athletes throughout our readership areas. They’ve put together an impressive, one-of-a-kind event dedicated to all the student athletes they cover during the year, from over 20 schools (in two states, and six counties).

Celtics legend and NBA Champion Brian Scalabrine will deliver the keynote address and regional celebrities and sports personalities will bestow awards.

White Mountains Regional baseball coach Ben Hicks will be honored as Coach of the Year; LI’s Connor McLure and St. Johnsbury Academy’s Lia and Jen Rotti will be honored as our top scholar-athletes of the year; and NCU’s Anne Potter and WMR’s Jon Austin will be celebrated for their character and sportsmanship.

Dozens of other area athletes – identified by sports staff as the top performers in their respective sport throughout the year – will be awarded. And the night will end with an unveiling of our top male and female Athletes of the Year – as voted on by Vermont sportswriters.

These kids are the best of our best and nobody leaves the NNEKYs wanting for hardware. The event was designed exclusively to bring all of these elite local athletes together and to publicly honor them in front of family, teammates, teachers, coaches, fans and friends.

Making the event possible are our major sponsors - Modern Furniture, St. Johnsbury Academy, White Mountains Community College, AutoSaver Group, North Country Hospital, Northern Vermont University, Jay Peak and Passumpsic Bank.

Also supporting the athletes, their families and communities are Marty’s 1st Stop, ​Thurston Auto, Center Tower, Sawyer & Ritchie Agency, Barrett Insurance Agency, Wells River Chevy, ​Rotobec, Edward Jones, Weidmann, Fairbanks Scales, Wes Ward Auto, Berlin City Auto, ​Lyndon Institute, ​Littleton Regional Healthcare, Community National Bank, Poulin Lumber, Hardwick Dental, Noyle Johnson Group, WW Berry’s Transportation, and the Comfort Inn & Suites Near Burke Mountain.

The NNEKY awards are an unforgettable celebration of kids, families, and accomplishment. We can’t wait to host another installment of this can’t-miss, star-studded, feel-good extravaganza.

For more information visit NNEKY.org.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.